RIP-ing…

Seriously life, can we just settle down for a bit. I meant to officially join RIP back on September 1st, but I tell you, the shit just keeps a coming. I’ve never been so glad for it to be back-to-school day. I’ve decided (because simply deciding will make it so, you know), that this back-to-school marks the start of a string of good luck to replace the string of crises we’ve been dealing with–starting with two unexpected major financial hits, moving on to having my beloved mother-in-law admitted to the ICU in the hospital and being diagnosed at the age of 82 with type 1 diabetes, and to end this long weekend of shit, finding our bathroom sink was leaking. But on the bright side: we’ll deal with the financial hits somehow, though it took him much of the day yesterday Rich managed to fix our plumbing problem, and very, very, very best of all, my mother-in-law is home now and is taking the major changes to her life in stride. And we were fortunate enough to have been able to make the 12-hour round trip to see her in the hospital Sat/Sun, which not only made her happy, but made us happy too.

ripxii200Okay, but back to RIP. Year XII! I tell you, few things make me more nostalgic over my early days of blogging than¬†Carl’s RIP and OUAT reading challenges. Thankfully, the lovely Heather and equally lovely Andi, have kept RIP alive again this year. And as usual I have made myself a pile of books far larger than I could read in two months time. Because while there are various Perils (levels) of participation that one can choose from when it comes to RIP, I prefer to go with what Kristen calls the “infinite peril” level, by which she means read as many RIP-appropriate books as possible during September and October.

Now, onto the lovely books:

IMG_2415

*Books that are already underway: Smoke Gets in Your Eyes and Other Lessons from the Crematory by Caitlin Doughty (nonfiction/memoir), My Soul to Keep by Tananarive Due (fiction), and From Hell by Alan Moore and Eddie Campbell (historical fiction graphic novel).

IMG_2418

*Books I currently have checked out of the library: ¬†The Wicked Boy: The Mystery of a Victorian Child Murderer¬†by Kate Summerscale (nonfiction impulse grab…was then happy to see it on Kristen’s pile because I love her taste in books!) and¬†Zone One¬†by Colson Whitehead (post-apocalyptic novel I’ve been wanting to read for years).

IMG_2419

*A couple more nonfiction choices: The Suspicions of Mr. Whicher: A Shocking Murder and the Undoing of a Great Victorian Detective by Kate Summerscale (a book I bought long ago thanks to Ana) and Pandemic by Sonia Shah (because I love reading about infectious disease and because I loved her book about malaria titled The Fever).

IMG_2425

*A nice pile of mystery and/or suspense and/or thriller type books:¬†See No Evil¬†and¬†Tell No Tales¬†by Eleanor Taylor Bland (because she is one of my favorite comfort read authors),¬†A.B.C. Murders¬†and¬†Hallowe’en Party by Agatha Christie (because it’s high time I read more of her work),¬†Wolves of the Crescent Moon¬†by Yousef Al-Mohaimeed,¬†Origin¬†by Diana Abu-Jaber, and¬†Out¬†by Natsuo Kirino¬†(all because they just sound so damn good and have been sitting on my shelves unread for too long), and¬†The Silence of the Lambs¬†by Thomas Harris (because I want to read it before I watch the movie again).

IMG_2426

*Of the more horror/supernatural variety:¬†The House of Dies Drear¬†by Virginia Hamilton,¬†The Little Stranger¬†by Sarah Waters,¬†and¬†The Icarus Girl¬†by Helen Oyeyemi (because they all sound so atmospherically perfect for this time of year),¬†Deathnote by Tsunami Ohba and Takeshi Obata (to have a little more comics choice, especially come Dewey’s Readathon¬†next month),¬†Lagoon¬†by Nnedi Okorafor (which sounds more sci-fi, but I’m hoping it’s dark and scary enough to qualify for RIP),¬†White Tears¬†by Hari Kunzru and¬†The Girl With the Gifts¬†M.R. Carey (because why haven’t I read them yet?!!) and¬†Fledgling¬†by Octavia Butler (because she has become one of my all-time favorite authors with¬†Kindred¬†and the¬†Parable¬†books, and I just *know* I’m going to love it!).

IMG_2427

*And finally, some short stories:¬†The Migration of Ghosts¬†by Pauline Melville (I’ve no idea if this is even RIP-appropriate, but the title has me hoping),¬†Black Juice¬†by Margo Lanagan (because how have I never read any of her short stories), and¬†Mojo: Conjure Stories¬†edited by Nalo Hopkinson (which I read some of last year for RIP).

Well, that ought to keep me busy, huh? Along with all the scary/suspenseful/mysterious viewing I’m hoping to do. And of course, it really goes without saying that I feel no compunction whatsoever to stick to this list…

5 thoughts on “RIP-ing…

    • Thank you, Michelle!!! It was scary, but thankfully she is home from the hospital now and taking things in stride and already seems like an old pro with the insulin shots and whatnot. So as much it sucks, we’re just so grateful that it’s something that is manageable. I’ve always said that she’s going to outlive all of us, and I’m sticking by that prediction. ūüôā

      I hope you have the most wonderful fall imaginable! ‚̧

      Like

  1. Hot damn, those are some book piles! So I adored White Tears to the point that part of me wants to re-read it for RIP, even though I just finished it like a month ago. Great creepy in that book. Probably will turn out to be a favorite for the entire year’s reading.

    Smoke Gets in Your Eyes is really interesting and I want to say fun, even though that feels like a really weird thing to call a book about death and cremation. But good stuff.

    My Soul to Keep is on my tbr as well, has been sitting around there forever and ever,a bout time to get on it. (List here if you’re interested: http://www.bookpunks.com/peril-12th-season-horror-arrived/ Though looking at other people’s lists is just making mine bigger and bigger and impossibly bigger)

    Happy reading!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kristen M. says:

    I love that you mentioned me twice here. ūüôā RIP reading season really does bring joy to my life, especially as the days get shorter and my outlook gloomier. The happiness fends off the S.A.D. I hope that things really do turn around for you too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

