my spring reading project…

Since my spring making project is making me so happy, I decided make a spring reading project as well. There’s also likely to be a spring watching project…because I seem to wallow in excess. Said excess will soon be quite apparent when I start listing the books I’d like to get read this spring. But honestly, not in my wildest dreams do I imagine I can read all of these books over the next three months. I’ll be elated if I read a quarter of them. It’s just that for one reason or another, these are the books that are calling my name right now.

First up, the books for homeschooling. Which doesn’t necessarily mean I’m not happy about reading them–in fact, I wouldn’t be having Gray read them if I wasn’t counting on them having some value.

  • The Road by Cormac McCarthy
  • Parable of the Sower by Octavia Butler
  • Parable of the Talents by Octavia Butler
  • Invasion of the Body Snatchers by Jack Finney
  • Solaris by Stanislaw Lem
  • Sarah Canary by Karen Joy Fowler
  • The Blood of Angels by Johanna Sinisalo
  • The Word for World is Forest by Ursula K. Le Guin
  • The Sheep Look Up by John Brunner
  • Forty Days of Rain by Kim Stanley Robinson
  • Walk to the End of the World by Suzy McKee Charnas
  • Ammonite by Nicola Griffith
  • Neuromancer by William Gibson
  • Snow Crasher by Neal Stephenson
  • Rogue Moon by Algis Budrys
  • Roadside Picnic by Arkady Strugatsky & Boris Strugatsky
  • Metropolis by Thea von Harbou
  • Dark Matter: A Century of Speculative Fiction from the African Diaspora edited by Sheree RenĂŠe Thomas
  • Brown Girl in the Ring by Nalo Hopkinson
  • Lagoon by Nnedi Okorafor
  • The Yiddish Policemen’s Union by Michael Chabon
  • First Along the River: A Brief History the U.S. Environmental Movement by Benjamin Kline
  • The Looming Tower by Lawrence Wright
  • 40 Days and 40 Nights by Matthew Chapman
  • Ah-Choo! The Uncommon Life of Your Common Cold by Jennifer Ackerman
  • Sex Sleep Eat Drink Dream: A Day in the Life of Your Body by Jennifer Ackerman
  • Genome: The Autobiography of a Species in 23 Chapters by Matt Ridley (DNF)
  • Dr. Tatiana’s Sex Advice to All Creation by Olivia Judson
  • Mycophilia: Revelations from the Weird World of Mushrooms by Eugenia Bone
  • The Botany of Desire by Michael Pollen
  • The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat by Oliver Sacks
  • The Sixth Extinction by Elizabeth Kolbert
  • The Invisible Enemy: A Natural History of Viruses by Dorothy Crawford
  • Pandemic by Sonia Shah
  • The Secret Life of Lobsters by Trevor Corson IMG_0491

Poetry has been calling to me lately. These are the books that I have checked out or on hold from the library right now, so obviously I’d like to get to them.

  • A Maze Me by Naomi Shihab Nye
  • A Thousand Mornings by Mary Oliver
  • Fidelity by Grace Paley
  • Ariel by Sylvia Plath
  • Hold Your Own by Kate Tempest
  • The Marvelous Arithmetics of Distance : Poems 1987-1992
    by Audre Lorde
  • Morning Haiku by Sonia Sanchez
  • Salt by Nayyirah Waheed

And so have essays.

  • Shrill by Lindy West
  • Letter to My Daughter by Maya Angelou
  • Freedom is a Constant Struggle by Angela Davis
  • Difficult Women by Roxane Gay

Can’t have a reading list for spring without at least a few comics. These are three of the many that I’ve been meaning to get to for a while.

  • Primates: The Fearless Science of Jane Goodall, Dian Fossey, and Birute Galdikas
  • V for Vendetta by Alan Moore and David Lloyd
  • Bitch Planet: Extraordinary Machine by Kelly Sue DeConnick and Valentine De Landro

I have an enormous pile of books that I started but then got set aside for various reasons (most often because I just had more pressing things I had to read for school). Some I’ll be able to pick up where I left off; some I’ll likely just start over. Would like to try to get a few off this pile this spring. Would like to do a lot of things though, so we’ll see.

  • The Illustrated Treasure of Fairy Tales edited by Rita Marshall
  • The Ship Who Sang by Anne McCaffrey
  • The Value of Nothing: How to Reshape Market Society and Redefine Democracy by Raj Patel

Books I want to read so I can get them out of the house. Due to my never-ending desire to declutter. That desire that is never met because there are four others living in this house who possess no such desire.

  • The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins (lent to me by Mom)
  • Red Dragonby Thomas Harris (I own this series and want to read them but am fairly sure I won’t feel the need to keep them.)

Science and nature picks.

  • No Way Home: The Decline of the World’s Great Animal Migrations by David S. Wilcove
  • One Kingdom: Our Lives with Animals by Deborah Noyes
  • Seedtime: On the History, Husbandry, Politics, and Promise of Seeds by Scott Chaskey
  • Unscientific America: How Scientific Illiteracy Threatens Our Future by Chris Mooney and Sheril Kirshenbaum
  • Woman: An Intimate Geography by Natalie Angier

Other non-fiction.

  • The New Jim Crow by Michelle Alexander
  • The Sound of a Wild Snail Eating by Elisabeth Tova Bailey
  • Triggered: A Memoir of Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder by Fletcher Wortmann
  • Spice: The History of a Temptation by Jack Turner
  • In the Kingdom of the Sick: A Social History of Chronic Illness in America by Laurie Edwards

And last but not least, other fiction that is screaming “Read me now!”

  • allegedly by Tiffany D. Jackson
  • The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas
  • The Lie Tree by Frances Hardinge
  • See No Evil by Eleanor Taylor Bland
  • Passing by Nella Larsen
  • The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley
  • What Was Lost by Catherine O’Flynn IMG_0489

After typing all this out (and sighing profusely at myself for my lack of restraint), I thought I’d better change that goal of reading a quarter of them to a goal of reading a tenth or a twentieth of them. But then I actually counted; there are 72 books on that list. A quarter of 72 is only 18, and that should be quite an easily doable number for three months. It’s the sticking to the list part that isn’t so easy…

2 thoughts on “my spring reading project…

Leave a Reply

